How Do You Juggle It?

IMG_1909One of the ways I’m trying to increase my savings is to increase my income. I looked at my hobbies and listened to a few people who told me I should be selling my crafting. (Crochet, cards, candy making etc. I’m into a lot of things.)

So I’ve opened an Etsy site, have been sharing my work through my facebook and twitter as well. The response has been well, sort of surprising – and a little overwhelming!

Look, I know I do good work. I’m sort of OCD about it actually. I know that my family and friends typically love it when I make them presents but they’re my family and friends! I didn’t really ever think someone from Twitter would contact me asking if I could do  something specific for them. But she did and I am.

Wow.

I’m also doing something specific for a friend’s daughter because they’re having trouble finding a hat to match her coat.  I’m really quite lucky that I’ve gotten so much of a response.

Now here’s the thing. I work. I work a lot. (Just under 40 hours a week at one job and 15-20 a week at the other) I try to have a life and work out too. I also like sleep. I need sleep in fact if you want to get technical.

My questions are to those of you who freelance in addition to your regular jobs: How do you juggle the time? How often do you say no? How do you decide a price for your work? I’ve got set prices that I’ve come up with based on what I’d be willing to pay, but how do you do it?

2 Responses to “How Do You Juggle It?”

  1. Allison Blass Says:

    I’ve done freelance writing in addition to my “regular job” and here’s what I did.

    Figure out how many hours you have left over after your “required” work.

    Figure out how many hours it takes you to do one of your hats.

    Divide and conquer.

    Don’t say yes to making more hats than you mathematically have the hours for. That’s really the only way you can do it. There are only so many hours in the day, and you don’t want to overextend yourself. As for payment, I would definitely look see what your competitors are selling for and make sure you’re within range. There is a threshold for what people will pay, but if you go to low, it will come off as “cheap” so you want to strike a happy medium between affordability and the quality of the work.

  2. FB @ FabulouslyBroke.com Says:

    Crafting is a different beast for me, but I’d definitely figure out how long it takes to make a hat, then say: from the day you buy it, give me time to make it for you, and then ship it. So 2-3 weeks in total or something.

    Unless it’s a rush job.

    I am never in a rush to get anything from Etsy, knowing the sellers are independent workers 🙂

    As for my side jobs, I tend to just write or do online stuff, or consult, which is all done after hours or at night when I have tons of free time.

    I’d also give yourself a break, every Thurs night or something so you don’t burn out.


Leave a Reply

