What does “Financially Secure” Mean to Me?

I had a friend ask me the other day about why I’m setting forth to change my money habits over all and as we talked about it, my answer came down to something that I felt was a fairly simple and short answer: I want to be Financially Secure.

Financially Secure. But what does it mean? I’ve seen a lot of different answers and each one is as different as the person giving the answer to it.  Some said some debt was ok, some did not, people had different amounts of time they wanted to have saved before they’d feel secure and some included retirement goals, while others did not. As I read through other’s answers, I started to really think about what it means to me.

I can’t answer about what it will mean to me in 6 months or a year, but right now it seems that being Financially Secure would be having enough money in the bank to pay my bills if a paycheck was messed up, to be able to deal with curve balls like car problems, needing a plane ticket, or having to put down a deposit on a new place without stressing about what will happen, and to be on my way to having met my goals and then some. Note that I didn’t say that all of my goals will have been met, but I’ll be well on my way.

What does being Financially Secure mean to you?

One Response to “What does “Financially Secure” Mean to Me?”

  1. Tweets that mention What does “Financially Secure” Mean to Me? « Budgets are Bold and Sassy -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cute~Ella, Cute~Ella. Cute~Ella said: What does "Financially Secure" Mean to Me?: http://wp.me/pLJNX-o […]


Leave a Reply

